Preview – Asia Pacific Rally Championship 2010 Round 1 : Malaysian Rally

Rally fans, get ready! Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) will be coming to Johor for the opening round of the 2010 season from the 22nd until the 24th of April. Here’s some photos from last year’s event, as a preview of what can be expected for this year.

Although some of the competitors from last year’s event won’t be taking part for 2010, most notably 2009 champion Cody Crocker (below) and his teammate and last year’s runner-up Emma Gilmour (above), 2010 will be as intense as ever because more competitors will be taking part this year.

11 cars will be taking part according to the provisional entry list from the organizer. One to look out for is Chris Atkinson, a rally driver in the World Rally Championship (WRC). Atkinson will be piloting the Proton Satria Neo S2000 alongside teammate Alister McRae, the younger brother of the late 1995 World Rally Champion, Colin McRae. Last year, the Neo S2000 (above) was piloted by local hero and 2001, 2002 and 2004 APRC Champion Karamjit Singh. Karamjit will be piloting the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VIII this year.

1999 Asia Pacific Rally Championship Champion Katsu Taguchi

Katsu Taguchi punctured his front right tire just before the end of SS1

Rifat Sungkar from Indonesia will be changing his drive from last year’s Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX to Subaru Impreza WRX this year

Related posts:

Malaysian Rally Championship Round 2 – The Rally Spirit
Gallery - Malaysian Rally Championship Round 2
WRC - Rally Japan Day 1 : Sebastien Ogier Leads After Friday Superspecial Stage
Shot of the Day - Karamjit's River Crossing at Speed
Shot of the Day - Dakar Rally Extreme Unthinkable
WRC - Rally Guanajuato Mexico Day 2 : Ogier Still Ahead of Loeb
Asia Pacific Rally Championship 2011 – Malaysian Rally Day 2 : Atkinson Wins it for Proton
Malaysian Rally Championship 2011 Round 1 at Johor - Fan Fan Strolls to Victory
Leave A Comment