APRC Round 1 – Day One Morning Session

4 early stages of today’s race at Kota Tinggi saw Gaurav Gill of India took early initiatives, winning 3 stages.

Early favorites Chris Atkinson dropped down from the pecking order right from the start as his Proton Satria Neo S2000 suffered a mysterious electrical problem during the 1st stage, losing some 18 minutes to the entire field.

Meanwhile Team Cusco Racing lost both of its Japanese representatives when Yuya Sumiyama and Hiroshi Yanagisawa crashed out. This leaves Katsu Taguchi and Tomo Hasegawa left to carry the Japanese flag.

Malaysia’s best hope for the title, Karamjit Singh also suffered the same fate as Atkinson, braking down on the 1st stage after losing the drives of his old and trusted Mitsubishi Evo VIII. This setback tasted more bitter after he and his team worked so hard till late evening yesterday to put the car on the starting line.

Stay tuned for reports on today’s afternoon session.

Photo / Editorial : Nazim Idris

Related posts:

APRC Round 1 - Flag Off Ceremony
Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) 2010 Round 1 at Kota Tinggi, Johor - A Few Conclusions
Malaysian Rally Championship Round 2 at Negeri Sembilan Day 1 - Karamjit Let Fly His Evo!
WRC - Rally Finland Friday Report : Latvala Takes the Lead for Ford
WRC - RACC Rally de Espana Day 1 : Loeb Reigns in Spain
WRC - RACC Rally de Espana Day 3 : Gravel Push Sets Up Another Loeb Win
WRC - Rally Guanajuato Mexico Day 1 : Ogier Leads Citroen Domination
Asia Pacific Rally Championship 2011 – Malaysian Rally Shakedown
Leave A Comment