Malaysian Rally Championship Round 2 at Negeri Sembilan – Battle of the Titans is on the Horizon

Battle of Malaysia’s rally scene is upon us as Malaysian Rally Championship (MRC) continues this weekend at Bandar Sri Jempol in Negeri Sembilan. Top drivers from across the country such as multiple champion Karamjit Singh and MRC Round 1 winner Rafiq Udhaya will be vying for the win against the on form Japanese driver Katsu Taguchi, winner of the Malaysian Rally’s APRC category in Johor Bahru two months ago.

The Japanese driver, a former World Rally Championship participant, will be teaming up with a different partner this time with Malaysian born driver Jagdev Singh as his co-driver and not Mark Stacy of Australia which helped him win the opening round in April.

Rafiq Udhaya, winner of MRC round 1 in Kota Tinggi, Johor.

Rafiq Udhaya, in his Subaru Impreza of MRU Motorsports, believes Taguchi would be the man to catch : “He is such an experienced driver and he knows how to tackle the tough terrains of Malaysian rubber and oil palm estates. I won’t be surprised at all if he wins. He is the man to beat if you want the title. It was a nasty experience for us in Hokkaido with all the mechanical problems we were saddled with. But we have got new parts fitted in now for Round 2 and we hope to put up a better performance here.”

Karamjit Singh, a household name in Malaysian rally is also in the fray with Douglas Pickering as his co-driver behind GSR Pennzoil Racing’s Mitsubishi Lancer but after a disastrous outing in Round 1 two months ago, he will surely counts on his vast experiences to make amends and regain back his form.

Photo : Nazim Idris

Related posts:

APRC 2010 Round 1 - Shakedown Day
APRC Round 1 - Day One Morning Session
Malaysian Rally Championship Round 1 at Johor - Rafiq Udhaya Victorious
Malaysian Rally Championship Round 2 at Negeri Sembilan Day 2 - Total Domination by Karamjit
Malaysian Rally Championship Round 3 at Terengganu - Day 1 : Karamjit Storms to the Front
Through the Lens - Malaysian Rally Championship Round 4 at Perlis
Asia Pacific Rally Championship 2011 – Malaysian Rally Shakedown
Asia Pacific Rally Championship 2011 – Malaysian Rally Flag Off Ceremony and SS1
Leave A Comment