12 Hour Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race 2010 – 3rd Successive Pole for Porsche Club Singapore

Team Porsche Club Singapore (above) will start the 11th edition of Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race (MMER) from pole after topping Friday’s qualifying session for the 3rd time in a row.

Piloted by Mok Weng Sun, Craig Baird and Richard Lietz, they blazed through the Sepang International Circuit with their Porsche 997 RSR with a total qualifying times of 6:17.346s. On top of that, Porsche works driver Lietz managed to clock the fastest lap time of 2:04.206 seconds.

The team are looking very strong and now they’re in a great form and position to reclaimed the title they had won in 2008. During that year they smashed the total lap count record in the 12-hour race with 308 laps on the 5.543km circuit.

With a time of 6:18.666s, Team Arrows Racing (above) had to settled for 2nd spot after pushing the Singaporean team very hard throughout the 3 driver qualifying session. But they are still very much a threat with current FIA GT3 European champion Christopher Haase in the their cockpit alongside Peter Kox, former Le Mans racer and 2002 MMER winner Tunku Hammam Sulong.

In 3rd spot are Hong Kong outfit KK Performance Team, led by former Malaysian F1 driver Alex Yoong. Together with Matthew Marsh and Marchy Lee, they strung together a very well qualifying times of 6:19.344s in a Lamborghini LP560.

Pre race favourite Audi Race Experience Team Joest (above) – featuring multiple Le Mans champion Frank Biela and Marco Werner, slotted in 4th postion, while Dilango Racing of Sri Lanka followed closely behind in 5th.

Defending champion Petronas Syntium Team (above) finished the session in 12th and 13th spot, some 20 seconds behind the leaders. But they’re still cannot be underestimated – their BMW Z4Ms are known for their reliability and consistency, as proven in past MMER edition and also the Super Taikyu Endurance Series in Japan.

Current Lotus Racing F1 test driver Fairuz Fauzy, qualified in top spot of Sports Production Category.

Total Qualifying Times :

1 W.S. Mok / C.G. Baird / Richard Lietz Team PCS Racing 06:17.346
2 T.Hammam / Peter Kox / C. Haase Arrows Racing 06:18.666
3 A. Yoong / M. Marsh / Marchy Lee KK Performance Team 06:19.344
4 Frank Biela / D. O’Young / M. Werner Audi Race Experience Team Joest 06:22.328
5 Dilantha M. / Jeffrey Lee / K. Sasaki Dilango Racing 06:23.170
6 Mokhzani M. / S. Herberger / D. Fambacher Kencana Racing Team 06:26.807
7 Frank Yu / Alain Li / M. Bentwood Craft Racing 06:32.410
8 M.Cini / M. Eddy / M J Twigg Porsche Club Singapore 06:35.961
9 Tony Quinn / Klark Quinn / Paul Weel VIP Petfoods 06:37.144
10 K. Sawa / Siu Yuk Lung / Mak Hing Tak LKM Racing Team 06:37.650
11 A. MacPherson / M. Reedy / David Wall Amac Motorsports 06:39.833
12 N. Taniguchi / M. Yanagida / Imran Zaharias ShaharomPetronas Syntium Team 06:40.269
13 T. Kataoka / Farique / Malvin Moh Petronas Syntium Team 06:40.598
14 Fairuz F. / Farriz F. / Rizal Ashram Mofaz Racing 07:08.563
15 Ashraff D. / Z. Low / Denis Lian Aylezo Empire Motorsports 07:12.226
16 T J Chin / T P Chin / Jeffrey Wong Team JPM Dragon 07:13.875
17 Eddie Liew / Aaron Lim / Rueben Wong Honda Malaysia Racing Team 07:16.757
18 M. Kawaguchi / M. Ueda / Adam Han Tracy Sports 07:19.141
19 Keifli O. / Patrick Tam / Firhat M. JC Racing 07:23.723
20 Patrick Ng/ K H Khoo / Marcus Chye BTB Racing 07:25.351
21 Lai Wee Sing / Moh Yze Yang / Kelvin Phon HKS Garage R Racing 07:26.720
22 Harry Chai / Y C Wong / Charles Ng G Harry Racing Team 07:28.578
23 Abu Bakar / Gerald Tan / Ian Geekie Nexus Racing 07:29.242
24 M. Nazir / M. Ridzuan / Khairul Anwar Team Brothers In Racing 07:30.939
25 Kenny Lee / K C Chua / C. O’Shannessy Wing Hin Motorsports 07:32.874
26 Halim Muazzam / Sharjihan / M. Zaid JC Racing 07:33.066
27 K. Perajun / D. Dielenberg / M. Zaki 07:33.455
28 A. D’Silva/ Melvinder S./ Farizal H. Nexus Racing 07:33.503
29 Michael Chua / Joseph Chua / C K Tseu Mofaz Racing 07:34.684
30 C. Barry / B. Murdoch / Sam Choy 07:34.799
31 A.Nabil / Zakaria / Hakim 07:42.601
32 William Chong / J. Umemoto / K. Okumura Wing Hin Motorsports 07:45.593
33 Jacky Yeung / Bentley Yeung / Michael Lai Arrows Racing 07:55.725
34 W Y Wan / L S Chia / T H Soo 07:57.116
35 T W Hsia / J T Teo / M L Chan Team Ultra Racing Kegani 08:17.730
36 Zaidi Baharin / Shah Azuar / M. Amir 08:40.062

Photo / Editorial : Nazim Idris

Related posts:

GT3 Asia - The Aston Martin DBRS9
Time to Attack at the Sepang International Circuit
Sepang 1000km Endurance (S1K) 2010 - Exit Light, Enter Night
Super GT 2010 Round 4 at Sepang - A Brief Look into the Details
Time to Attack Round 2 at the Sepang International Circuit
12 Hour Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race 2010 - A Photo Journal Part 1 : Racing into the Night
12 Hour Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race 2010 – GT Class Race Report
MotoGP - 1st Official Test at Sepang : Insights and Lap Times Analysis
Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Premium Wordpress Plugin